Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Legend PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bandit country
    Age
    89
    Posts
    619
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Another line of thought targeted directly at FreddyFrog, LOL! But if any other of you geniuses can help out too, then so much the better...

    LCD-EPG won't work unless yWeb is present in the dbox2 image. Now much as I like yWeb, it does involve a heavy payload on box memory- 492kb, in fact. (Just tested 'before and after')

    So at present, yWeb is not on my box. Which means I can't use LCD-EPG, which I really miss. It occurs to me though, that EPG is present in all areas where you expect to see it, which is sectionsd doing it's job, I think.

    Would it be possible, I wonder, to mod the LCD-EPG files so that they extract the current program Title not from yWeb, but from wherever sectionsd is holding this data? Such as the (Red > Red) Eventlist Current Program, for example...

    Cheers- AL

  2. #2
    Respected Member FreddyFr0g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    137
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    I'm not sure how lcd-epg is working exactly but it might be because it's using yWeb for displaying the text on the lcd screen rather than accessing the EPG info (since, as you said, sectionsd can be queried about it).
    As a matter of fact, I wouldn't know how to display something on the lcd screen if it wasn't for doing it via yWeb.
    Maybe someone else can comment on this Hidden Content !

  3. #3
    Legend PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bandit country
    Age
    89
    Posts
    619
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18
    Thanks for reply, Freddy! From what I recall reading about LCD-EPG, it seems to use yWeb to extract the current program Title to display on the LCD, under the Channel Name (which is already there, even if the lcd-epg plugin isn't installed).

    The main engine for lcd-epg is it's lcd_epg.sh file, which I've attached for reference. This contains many pointers to where the data is being pulled in from:

    Hidden Content

    But where yWeb is installed, then that program also is sucking all of this epg data directly from the dbox. That's what got me thinking- Why does lcd-epg need this 'middleman'? What's the problem with doing it direct?

    Or would lcd-epg then become another 500kb behemoth in the process? LOL! Cheers - AL Hidden Content

    ps: Do you all still see the EDIT button on your own posts? Coz I don't...

    Hidden Content

    Oops! I forgot the little attachment. That's the trouble when your EDIT button has vanished...
    Last edited by TokinWelshman; 08-06-2008 at 09:02 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    isnt localhost/control

    the webserver not yweb .

    try just installing just the nttp file (whatever its called aint looked at my box for some time.)

    remove the yweb structure it should still be able to access /control.

    i might be wrong though just thought id throw a spanner in the works

  5. #5
    Legend pt-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    50
    Posts
    823
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Update: LCD_Wetter0.7_Menue.rar



    Find it as usual here: Hidden Content



    Use via /var/etc/init.d/start_neutrino:



    Code:
    ...
    if [ -e /var/etc/.lcd_epg_auto ] ; then
    sleep 30 && /var/plugins/lcd_epg.sh &
    fi;
    
    touch /tmp/.lcdwetter
    /var/plugins/tuxwet/lcdwetter &
    
    KEEP_ALIVE=1
    while expr $KEEP_ALIVE != 0 > /dev/null
    do
    neutrino -u -f
    KEEP_ALIVE=$?
    done
    
    pzapit -kill
    ...


    and var/tuxbox/config/standby.on



    Code:
    ...
    aviaext --iec-off
    
    touch /tmp/.lcdwetter
    /var/plugins/tuxwet/lcdwetter &
    
    if [ -e /var/etc/.stb_off_camd ]; then
    /var/plugins/operations camd_stop & 
    ...


    and standby.off



    Code:
    ...
    aviaext --iec-on
    
    rm -f /tmp/.lcdwetter
    
    if [ -e /proc/clock ]; then
    START="sectionsd -tc" 
    ...
    Last edited by pt-1; 09-06-2008 at 11:54 AM.

  6. #6
    Legend PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bandit country
    Age
    89
    Posts
    619
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Hidden Content Originally Posted by TokinWelshman Hidden Content
    isnt localhost/control

    the webserver not yweb .

    try just installing just the nttp file (whatever its called aint looked at my box for some time.)

    remove the yweb structure it should still be able to access /control.

    i might be wrong though just thought id throw a spanner in the works
    Do you mean nhttpd @ 429kb in /bin m8? That's the one for yWeb. I know, coz I was inside it with HexEditor to strip out the final bits of German (just to annoy pt-1, LOL!)

    Just to confirm- my testbox with no trace of nhttpd / yWeb on it still accesses the web very nicely thankyou- via TuxWeather, for webcam photos etc.

    So the question remains- where does yWeb suck it's EPG data from- and could LCD-EPG pull the required Program Title from that same source, rather than using yWeb as a middleman?

    Cheers- AL

    ps- Thanks for merging my post, m8- but I really wish I could have my EDIT button back...

  7. #7
    Respected Member FreddyFr0g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    137
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Sorry not to be very familiar with lcd-epg (my LCD is out so I don't use it!) but is it just a shell script?
    yWeb gets the EPG info from sectionsd, you can see that when you run sectionsd in debug mode, every time you call the page that displays the epg info, you can see logs created and function calls to sectionsd.
    I think the page that displays the epg are obviously compiled with the right libraries to interact directly with sectionsd (like sectionsdcontrol that enables you to dump/load/pause/un-pause/restart epg data).
    If one would try to get the EPG data from sectionsd, I would suggest to have a look at how sectionsdcontrol works and then take it from there... unfortunately, I have no ideas in how to do it with a shell script

  8. #8
    Legend PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bandit country
    Age
    89
    Posts
    619
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Thanks to TW, I'm now seeing LCD-EPG without yWeb present in the image! Yes, it's /bin/nhttpd that is needed, and no- yWeb isn't a must- like I previously thought. Both yWeb and LCD-EPG grab their data from wherever (sectionsd in the case of lcd-epg, as confirmed by Freddy), using nhttpd as the go-between.

    So I was wrong in thinking that lcd-epg used yWeb for it's Program Title info. Great fun, testing- LOL! Now to try and tame pt-1's latest LCD-Wetter updates, to see if it will co-habit with lcd-epg...

    Cheers, Guys! AL

  9. #9
    Legend for now
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Leatherhead
    Posts
    697
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    @AL,
    /bin/nhttpd IS yWeb? I don't understand what you mean or how you got that to work???

    The DBOX itself does not have any built-in http daemon (web server) other than yWeb. The yWeb source code compiles /bin/nhttpd, which displays HTML files from /share/tuxbox/y-web (or wherever the directory is in your image).
    Take a peek at my Frequently Asked DBOX2 questions:
    Hidden Content

    NEW! Want to become a next-generation DBOX2 image developer? PM me

  10. #10
    Legend PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bandit country
    Age
    89
    Posts
    619
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    18

    Re: yWeb and LCD-EPG

    Hiya Speedy! What I did, was to follow TokinWelshman's hint in post #4 above. So I have nhttpd @ 429kb (it actually uses about 160kb in memory) in the /bin folder. I have pruned the /httpd-y folder in /share/tuxbox/neutrino/ out of the image completely. And LCD-EPG works fine, m8- honest!

    As I understand it, nhttpd means Neutrino HTTPD. Looking at older pre-yWeb images, it used to weigh in at 129kb, so I guess yJogol has since 'added' to the original source file to include his stuff. Certainly, I found words like Sperren and Anzeigen in there, which are used in yWeb Bouquet Editor.

    But TW is correct- the /httpd-y folder isn't a pre-requisite for LCD-EPG to function, but the nhttpd file is!

    Now hurry hurry up and get the third re-incarnation of CF up and running again, please! Cheers- AL

Similar Threads

  1. What is YWeb
    By sidneysides in forum Cable Dbox2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-04-2007, 02:03 PM
  2. yWeb 2.5.0 ALFA 2 UK
    By nitr8 in forum Cable Dbox2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 02:23 AM
  3. Yweb update
    By whirlweb in forum Cable Dbox2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 11:49 AM
  4. Yweb pop-up viewer always on top
    By t3d in forum Cable Dbox2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-12-2006, 03:38 PM
  5. yweb commando 3
    By standarren in forum Cable Dbox2
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 01:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •