PDA

View Full Version : wi fi on pda.



Ianwallage
24-11-2006, 10:23 AM
Just recently I have been getting pop ups on my ipaq while using tom tom. Its very annoying when you are trying to follow the route. It was asking me to connect to the internet or work. I had no idea why this was happening and I thought that maybe my pda had connected to my phone aswell as the gps signal. so I switched my phone off incase it was costing me huge money. Turns out that my wi-fi connection had been switched on on my pda. I didn,t activate it so what has? I have turned it off now (10 mins ago) so I can only wait and see if it happens again. Can someone tell me what would have happened if I had clicked "connect" instead of "hide"

dx100-uk
24-11-2006, 12:33 PM
you would have got free internet probably!!
though in a car, about 2mins before you are out of signal!

dx100uk
:rolleye:

sjet2002
01-12-2006, 03:11 PM
If you have wifi enabled, the ipaq will pick up on 'local' signals, however whilst they may be identified, it will depend on the access points setting, whether you will be able to connect or not.

In most cases the connections are 'secure' and you won't be able to access them.