PDA

View Full Version : help with freeview on my lcd monitor please



mk5.escort
15-10-2006, 02:50 AM
OK Ive got one of these freeview boxes that i can watch dvb-t on my lcd monitor without the pc turned on.
It all seems to work well except i cant get setanta (which is the main reason i bought it in the first place)
When i do a scan, it finds all the channels including the ppv (setanta, redhot, tvx) but when i go to that channel, i just see a black screen, whereas on my standalone freeview box in the living room, you see a 'test card' (if thats the right phrase) when the channel is not broadcasting.
This is a problem, because obviously you need to be able to see the test card so you can press the red button to buy the event (well maybe not 'buy' but enter the code ;) )
I just wondered if anyone else has experienced this issue with a box like mine? or perhaps even with a dvb-t pci card or usb box?

TIA

MK5.

y2krog2000
15-10-2006, 12:38 PM
My box in the living room comes up with the screen, but my other freeview box up the stairs the sentana only comes on a couple of hours before a match.

Dont know if thats any help.

thebighippo
15-10-2006, 05:05 PM
Very few devices (apart from 'real' freeview boxes) support MHEG which s the digital text system used by Freeview. bet your box doesn't display any of the text-only channels.

Your only hope is that you can manually set pids on this box of yours...

mk5.escort
15-10-2006, 05:47 PM
thing is - it finds the channels when i do a scan, but just doesnt display the ppv ones :(

nunoamorim
15-10-2006, 10:39 PM
you will need a subscription......from topup tv

y2krog2000
16-10-2006, 08:31 AM
you will need a subscription......from topup tv


Not to get the screen he is looking for to put the sentana code in, a normal freeview box will do and if he gets a code it will work.