PDA

View Full Version : Electrical laws

Hitman
13-10-2006, 06:08 PM
The new laws on electrical work in the home apparently says you cant do your own electrical work in wet areas such as bathroom and kitchen and exterior circuits.

Someone told me recently that your not even allowed to install a new plug socket....is this true

If it is true what is the likely-hood that you will get your self into trouble and if so what kind of nicking would you get???

As a builder i often have to do small electrical jobs and now im supposed to leave well alone but on something simple like a plug socket this is not always convenient.

These laws are bought in for safety i know but arn't they taking it a bit far?

Cheers

stickywicket
13-10-2006, 06:17 PM
i think sockets etc are classed as non-notifiable but like you said bathrooms etc are classed as "special areas"

heres a link so you can read a bit more, however some of this may have changed Building Regulations Part P, Electrical safety in dwellings - The IET (http://www.iee.org/Publish/WireRegs/BR-PartP-dwellings.cfm#Q2)

redbarony
13-10-2006, 07:39 PM
you are allowed to replace existing wiring,sockets etc i suppose it would be down to proving there wasnt anything there before

but when we had our extension built,the builder had to call in a spark to connect up the pre-wiring he had done in the bog lights/switches and extractor and certify it.

even the father inlaw cant touch it and hes been a spark all his life but he not got this cirtificate

load of bollocks if you ask me as long as you are competent you should be able to do any diy on your own property-me personally i dont like gas and water.

next the plumbers will be doing the same as you never know when that drippy tap could cause your house to implode!

Hitman
13-10-2006, 09:00 PM
Think im an electrical outlaw....im gonna just ignore it.

Soon we wont be able to do anything and ill have to give up my business.