PDA

View Full Version : Tiling not a problem.

tinkertiler
08-10-2006, 08:26 PM
If you need any help with any aspect of ceramic tiling wall or floor then ask me and i will help all that i can as that is my job and ive been doing it for 8 years now!

RosIrl
14-02-2007, 05:40 PM
Thanks, am having problem with grout comming up between floor tiles in tiled shower. It keeps breaking up and don't know what to do. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Have done a lot of DIY from plumbing, electrics, carpentry to in house automation so if I can be of help in return please let me know.

14-02-2007, 06:17 PM
well you should get flexi tile addesive for the floor my suggestion would be dont tile bathrooms over timber floors to me not a good idea but if you like it use flexi add

tinkertiler
15-02-2007, 09:11 AM
Flexi adhesive and grout should ALWAYS be used on a floor with movement i.e. a wooden floor or a room that has underfloor heating in. And yes using a flexi grout or a admix in the grout that should sort the problem out. If this doesnt work then you need to investigate the adhesive that is underneath. In a wet room as you are describing it should be of a high grade and not cheap stuff that you get from the local DIY store.

There is another solution and that is to use epoxy grout but that is the extreme and you have to be very careful how you use it as it is a nightmare to apply and clean off. Seek advice from a retailer before you go down this root as i dont use it unless there is no other option.

Good luck

RosIrl
19-02-2007, 07:33 PM
Hi Tinkertiler,

Thanks for the fast responce. Am on concrete floors, was using unibond premixed adhesive which was a big mistake. At ?49 a tub it was a waste of money. Got advice from a guy in diy store to add PVA adhesive to grout as he says this would add to both the water proofing and hardwearing of the grout. What do you think.

RosIrl

tinkertiler
20-02-2007, 07:19 PM
Hi Tinkertiler,