PDA

View Full Version : losing more and more channels



gonzo
02-12-2011, 11:29 PM
with all the changes happening to freeview i am constantly losing channels, film4 and the music channels amongst others, i try retuning but this hasnt helped, any ideas?

dx100-uk
03-12-2011, 12:54 AM
are you direct to the aerial or via boosters/splitters?

dx

Spinifex
03-12-2011, 12:58 AM
unconfirmed yet but e-on smart meters (you or your neighbour) could be causing interference, im yet to confirm this.

can interfere with freeview certain transponders.

gonzo
03-12-2011, 11:12 AM
im unsure as to what the setup is, probably a splitter as my tv is in my room in accomodation on a military camp

dx100-uk
03-12-2011, 09:53 PM
ah that make things a wee bit diff


have you asked any of the others

dx

gonzo
04-12-2011, 10:52 AM
Yeah i think everyone else has the same problem :mad:

dx100-uk
04-12-2011, 10:58 AM
me thinks some enterprising person needs to find the aerial, and check its pointing in the right direction
shouldn't be too diff!

then see if you can trace were the distribution box is.

might just be a case of tightening up the connectors

or the aerial has never been replaced since the change around this year

and it now needs to be wideband?

how far are you away from your nearest transmitter
it might be you can run an indoor aerial or one outside on a window sill?

dx

dx

dx

pheonix
04-12-2011, 12:27 PM
unconfirmed yet but e-on smart meters (you or your neighbour) could be causing interference, im yet to confirm this.

can interfere with freeview certain transponders.

no i dont agree with that, i have a e-on smart meter sat less than 5 inches from my tv and freeview works fine. ( tv has freeview built in )

Donny7
13-01-2012, 12:12 AM
I has similar problems, but it is all sorted now because I think the transmitters are now at full strength. Do you know when your local transmitter is being switched?

mk13
20-02-2012, 10:29 PM
I have lost film4 and music channels too, I put my down to the crap aerial my landlord installed....

dx100-uk
21-02-2012, 12:13 AM
you need to look at the 'muxes' on your transmitter

it will be 'all' the channels in that 'multiplex'

if its not, then its your boxes software.

either 'all' the multiplexed channels on that mux go, not just one or two

dx

ruirocha
14-06-2012, 02:56 AM
I recently add a similar problem, I lost most of my channels, and I add to retune the TV in this case as if it was the first installation.
Not sure if it helps

Salem874
14-06-2012, 10:45 PM
Ive had excellent signal since our digital switchover in April last year, well until about a month or two ago. No changes to aerial or connections.

The degredation started round about when London DSOd so am wondering if Crystal Palace is causing interferance with Sandy Heath signals

dx100-uk
15-06-2012, 11:29 AM
wouldn't think so

they are in totally opposing directions

dx

cjf
14-07-2012, 05:56 PM
i think the problem is not your fault because even i have this problem at me grans house she can't receive all the channels it due to the fact that the digital switch over is still happening in some parts

dx100-uk
14-07-2012, 11:17 PM
i think the problem is not your fault because even i have this problem at me grans house she can't receive all the channels it due to the fact that the digital switch over is still happening in some parts

or shes not got a wide band aerial.

often during the switchover, muxes are moved {esp sky stuff] to the higher 60+ channels
whereas most of the rest of the muxes are elsewhere on the band.
[tranditionally a +60 chan no. was used only for relays and not main transmitters so
im the vast majority of the country they are 'free']

often that is in areas where for all the years of analogue tv, they were all within a 'narrow' range of chan numbers
and thus the required group [A.B.C.D] 'narrowband' aerials were put up.

these are crap at receiving outside their bandwidth, they were thus designed to do so!!

check the muxes channels used in your area

dx

alanjg007
15-07-2012, 10:36 PM
I had a similar problem with losing channels until i upgraded the old coaxil cable to newer, modern stuff!

AllyBally
20-07-2012, 11:52 PM
Yep, I would second that. My picture quality improved significantly when I upgraded my coax cable to more modern type, with better shielding.

dave_moore
21-07-2012, 12:06 AM
yes with more and more "Signals" flying through the air from wifi to tv to radio etc its getting to the point now were quietly cabling is a must as any thing with pour shielding is going to be prone to interference and thus loss of signal also high voltage cable given off EMF "electro magnetic flux" can be a big factor to interference with coax so if you do replace to the new stranded of coax RG-59 route it away from other wires and lights etc

To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. coax