PDA

View Full Version : What do you mean by "MAC"

makii
27-07-2006, 10:55 AM
Excuse me,,,,all this sounds interesting. I'm a newbie, approx 3 days now!!

What do you mean by "MAC", i am familair with MAC as in Network Cards...

explain for me someoe please...

hacker
27-07-2006, 12:58 PM
A MAC address, short for Media Access Control address, is a unique code assigned to most forms of networking hardware. The address is permanently assigned to the hardware, so limiting a wireless network's access to hardware -- such as wireless cards -- is a security feature employed by closed wireless networks. But an experienced hacker -- armed with the proper tools -- can still figure out an authorized MAC address, masquerade as a legitimate address and access a closed network.

makii
27-07-2006, 01:08 PM
thanks for that hacker,,

what i meant was what do you all do with these macs, in relation to this thread!! but i think i have sussed it now! Cable modems get their speed depentant on their macs,,also something to do with acess area!!!

if im correct..!?

the_matrix
27-07-2006, 03:34 PM
basically mac cloning which involves using anothers mac and writing it to a (non subbed) modem with updated firmware:9:

also using anothers mac in the same area wont work as it will conflict

mannan
31-07-2006, 04:41 PM
my friend got me started on this crusade to get my surfboard working, but im gonna give ait a shot and do it myself......

i got a UBR code from my friend in glasgow also with NTL from the link at the top of this forum which he said needed to be different from the one give by machine, does this code determine the speed of broadband you will recieve when connecting my surfboard?

mannan
31-07-2006, 04:42 PM
or is this completely different from the MAC address?

snowy1998
02-08-2006, 01:03 AM
a MAC in a cable modem has exactly the same function as a MAC in a network card in a PC.

MONKey
02-08-2006, 06:42 PM
or is this completely different from the MAC address?