PDA

View Full Version : Does sky+ recording work with no subscription ?

BraveHeart
03-12-2009, 07:43 AM
when i say no subscription, i mean just the having the card that gives you all the freesat channel's.

I have a basic sky+ tv subscrition just now and obviously the sky+ recording facility works fine, i have never ever had the box connected to a telephone line, only to the sat feed.

Basically what i need to know is, if i cancel my basic sky subscription and get a freesat card (or whatever its called), can i still use the recording function of the sky+ box ? I cant see why not as i see freesat+ box's advertised and they just seem like exactly the same thing.

can someone please advise, thanks.

Sicilian
03-12-2009, 08:22 AM
I believe you lose the functionality, not 100% sure on this. Pretty sure that's what I read once, but there are way's round it I believe. I'll do some digging around.

BraveHeart
04-12-2009, 12:30 AM
I believe you lose the functionality, not 100% sure on this. Pretty sure that's what I read once, but there are way's round it I believe. I'll do some digging around.
yea, thanks mate, would be good to find out.

but as i said, i see now that you can get freesat+ which records etc like sky+, and as you know, freesat dont have subscription, hmmm.

And also, like i said earlier, my sky+ has always worked perfect and ive never had it plugged into the phone socket once, despite some people telling me it had to be, but nope it dont, so i cant see how the sky+ feature would stop working, hmm, strange if it does, eh ?

Sicilian
04-12-2009, 08:02 AM
Done some searching around. You will lose your recording facility if you cancel your sky subs and you will not be able to view any encrypted recorded programs either.

BraveHeart
04-12-2009, 08:43 AM
Thanks mate.

ok, must be the card that holds the info then for turning the recording and playback functions on and off then, hmmm, strange.