PDA

View Full Version : bit of advice please

DavC
22-08-2008, 02:40 PM
Hi guys,

just after a bit of info about the dreambox, a friend of mine has just ordered a 500c and no doubt he will be mithering me to help him set it up when it arrives.

i've had no experience with dreamboxes at all. I'm ok with setting up dbox's though. how different are the two? is there anything i need to watch out for when i help him, i've read something about official images bricking the box or something? can anyone recommend a decent safe image?

is there any sort of guides about for the dreambox like pt-1's?

notanotherone
22-08-2008, 02:51 PM
you should be fine if you know how to do dbox not that much differnet ,youll need the same cable, xover and null modem,get dreamup to flash unless your really clever and can telnet,image....well there`s quite a few,the one that bricks is an enigma but think its something like 4.1 dont be afraid as these boxs are just as easy to flash as a dbox and of course you allways get help here

Magnu420
22-08-2008, 09:30 PM
they piece of cake to do,at least you cant put it into kien system :roflmao:

i think gemini image you need to keep away from,cos they have been bricking clone 500's
the image im using now on both of me 600's are pli iolite modded by mr.dude been using it
now for about 10 months not had a problem

i hope this helps.....

DavC
23-08-2008, 07:15 PM
thanks very much guys. just thought i best ask before i start. anyway i'll have a good go at it when he gets it but if i get really stuck then i'm sure one of you nice lot will help us out! :p

turner123
23-08-2008, 08:46 PM
Here you go mate i found these guides for the dreambox, like its been said its all pretty straight forward like the dbox, only differance really is the dreambox is like the size of a weetabix and the remote would be more suited for The bBorrowers lol, apart from that good little box
http://www.world-of-digital.com/forums/f84/dreambox-guides-27375.html

DavC