PDA

View Full Version : Tom Tom frezzing?



serviceagent007
05-04-2008, 06:01 PM
Has anyone else experinced their tom tom locking up? Mine does it often and at the worst of times. Is there any solution for it?

biker1
08-04-2008, 05:50 PM
More details needed. Which tomtom, version, map etc.

Have a look on here...good site for tomtom issues.

Pocket GPS World (http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/index.php)

Brigsy
08-04-2008, 11:50 PM
Does anybody else suffer from lag on their tomtom? i mean the map takes ages to update around town areas? i also get the freezing occasionally, annoying aswell.

jaaae
09-04-2008, 10:18 PM
lag could be a problem with the sat signal.

I used to have 6.2 on my old PDA...which was slow.

When I upgraded to a much faster PDA, the same 'slowness' happened....I'm assuming it was sat updates and not the PDA/software (did the same with route66)

linzi_h
11-04-2008, 06:09 PM
have you tried a good old reset? I know that one of my friends had a similar problem and they reset it and its worked fine ever since. just make sure anything that you have got saved on it is backed up on the pc

alrightythen1
12-04-2008, 09:38 PM
try updating the software

nospamjl
13-04-2008, 04:20 PM
Be careful upgrading the software - you need to make sure that the maps you have are compatible - see:

TomTom Compatibility matrix for program builds and map versions (To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Also, i have found v6 on CE to be a lot less freezing than later v6 versions...

njl

nabby19
19-04-2008, 10:21 PM
tom tom is the king, ive got some crappy alternative and it send me all over the place :(

spider
22-04-2008, 07:41 PM
make sure you have enough memory on device

f0xsplit
16-08-2008, 06:21 PM
ive had probs with my tomtom1 i keep a needle in the case now so i can reset when it freezes

hinamalik
08-09-2008, 09:09 PM
in order to imporve the gps performance of old tomtom you can simply open it and pit a copper wire around the round gps module, it woudl improve teh signal quality in central london area

pande_monium
09-03-2009, 05:53 PM
You need to give more information, like the device, s/w version, maps version, etc.

If its a Tomtom Go/One/etc you're talking about, then it might be a good idea to try these one by one:

Cold reset (Press reset for 15 seconds, press start button for 5 seconds)

Reset to factory settings
Upgrade to latest firmware using Tomtom Home
Reinstall the Tomtom software by deleting everything EXCEPT MAPS or any other paid stuff. More info on how exactly to do this for your device is found on TomTom, portable GPS car navigation systems (http://www.Tomtom.com)

maxqa99
27-04-2009, 06:11 PM
only have those POI's active on the map that you really need, which is probably none ! These really slow the device down on a PDA.