PDA

View Full Version : vista is slow

pokerplaya
02-09-2007, 04:03 PM
hi everyone.... i just bought a laptop with vista home basic installed...
what a slug.... laptop is dual core blah blah 1 gig ram etc etc...
i dumped vista for xp and the laptop runs fast as hell.
this is my first try with vista as it was preinstalled on the laptop but to be honest i wont be going back to vista... xp runs a treat on everything i install it on.
just thought id share that with anyone that gets a vista laptop and finds it is a bit of a slug.
xp everytime....
regards dave

Shipoftheline
02-09-2007, 04:52 PM
Vista is another Windows Me

vik
02-09-2007, 05:23 PM
does anybody like vista

pokerplaya
02-09-2007, 05:31 PM
well its not that i didnt like it... it was more of the speed issue.. ive been an xp person for so long i know how it works and what speeds can be acheived byt vista was slow form the start and once i got the usual stuff installed it was like crawling thru toffee...
whether that was the laptopitself i dont know but im running xp/sp2 on it now and its like every other pc i have.. fast as lightning.
im glad i had the option of changing the os to xp as i wouldnt have enjoyed being stuck with vista.
have a good day by the way!

vik
02-09-2007, 05:40 PM
well its not that i didnt like it... it was more of the speed issue.. ive been an xp person for so long i know how it works and what speeds can be acheived byt vista was slow form the start and once i got the usual stuff installed it was like crawling thru toffee...
whether that was the laptopitself i dont know but im running xp/sp2 on it now and its like every other pc i have.. fast as lightning.
im glad i had the option of changing the os to xp as i wouldnt have enjoyed being stuck with vista.
have a good day by the way!
crawling thru toffee...pmsl

y2krog2000
02-09-2007, 07:44 PM
Vista is another Windows Me
Have you tried vista yet Ship? What makes you think its another windows me?