PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a wireless network..

j16
24-03-2007, 08:39 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to networking and am trying to set up a wireless network.

Got my desktop wired to the router and the laptop gets the internet fine from the router but I want to be able to transfer files between my desktop and laptop.

I've done the wireless network wizard followed the steps for each computer and eveything but theres nothing in my network places on either. Do I need a wireless adapter for the desktop?!...I thought the router acted like one for the desktop?

Both computers are XP, one home one media edition.

Any help appreciated.

diversionsc
08-05-2007, 04:46 AM
Using "set up home network wizard" under "My network places" follow the wizard and when it gets to the "Work Group" Section make sure you name both the same, mines is set to "HOSTPC".

After this ensure you tick "File and printer sharing", this should allow you to see the PC when you go into control panel.

Also try clicking "View workgroup computers" and see if you can find your machines on there.

mattrider
08-05-2007, 09:27 AM
Then right click the file you want to share and click sharing and security

and then click share this folder on the network.

Then go to my network places and the folder should appear.

Declan
08-05-2007, 07:32 PM
Using "set up home network wizard" under "My network places" follow the wizard and when it gets to the "Work Group" Section make sure you name both the same, mines is set to "HOSTPC".
After this ensure you tick "File and printer sharing", this should allow you to see the PC when you go into control panel.
Also try clicking "View workgroup computers" and see if you can find your machines on there.
Be weiry (SP?) of this as if you do not have it set up correctly you leave your hard drive open for the world to see

I have my own network and to transfere files i just use 2 msn accounts, it works just as good and is really fast

diversionsc
08-05-2007, 08:09 PM