PDA

View Full Version : Fresh Gemini Install

thermos
12-06-2006, 06:08 PM
Ok ive decided to take the plunge and try installing Gemini on my Dreambox after some recommendations ive read here about how much more stable it is than Neutrino. But, seeing as my box works fine at the moment apart from the fact that it freezes a lot, theres a few things i want to clear up first of all. :-?

1. I'm not sure exactly what progs i'll need to perform the flash properly, is there more than one? If so, whats best?

2. I successfully flashed my dbox2 from a German image, is the procedure on the dreambox fairly similar?

3. Can I backup the working image i currently have on my dreambox just now and reinstall it later if things bugger up?

4. The files look a bit different on the Dreambox from what they do on the Dbox2, especially with regard to Cams, Emus, Keys etc, (Which im also a newbie with) so im quite in the dark in this respect and need a bit of info.

5. Is there a fairly comprehensive (english) guide that covers all the questions ive just asked and perhaps more? Any hints i've seen say to read as much as possible. I want to, but from where?

Thanks a lot for any help offered. :D

sws
13-06-2006, 07:23 AM
Ok ive decided to take the plunge and try installing Gemini on my Dreambox after some recommendations ive read here about how much more stable it is than Neutrino. But, seeing as my box works fine at the moment apart from the fact that it freezes a lot, theres a few things i want to clear up first of all. :-?

1. I'm not sure exactly what progs i'll need to perform the flash properly, is there more than one? If so, whats best?

2. I successfully flashed my dbox2 from a German image, is the procedure on the dreambox fairly similar?

3. Can I backup the working image i currently have on my dreambox just now and reinstall it later if things bugger up?