PDA

View Full Version : Switch to Apple ???

beerdame
05-12-2006, 02:09 AM
I'm not a newbie to computers, but I'd like some info on Apple computers. I know they run their own non-windows operating system, does anybody here use an Apple ?
I currently have a desktop but need to switch to a laptop or notebook and the Apple powerbook looks the business.
Any advice out there for me? I'm a demanding user and need plenty of memory, disk space, and all the latest peripherals.

TIA.

Jango
05-12-2006, 04:53 PM
The one thing that you never hear about an apple is - they never get hit by a virus - the knob jockey's that write them only bover with MS.

Shipoftheline
05-12-2006, 05:00 PM
The one thing that you never hear about an apple is - they never get hit by a virus - the knob jockey's that write them only bover with MS.

They only bother with things that are widely used. You'll notice they have started paying Firefox more attention now for instance ;)

y2krog2000
05-12-2006, 05:14 PM
Seen a tv program that put a top of the range apple against a similar xp machine and the apple didnt do to well, the tests were encoding films and putting music onto an ipod and loads of different ones that I cant remember and the apple was 2nd in all of the tests even though the apple was supposed to do some things quicker and was dearer, I think the apples look better though :eek:

beerdame
06-12-2006, 02:00 AM
Thanks for the replies, i kinda had the impression that Apple was better and quicker at graphics-heavy chores, but I'm obviously wring if the test are anything to go by....

thanks again.

ste03
10-12-2006, 02:41 AM
apples are very very different from ms, they take a long time 2 get used 2 but are good once u have mastered it

Staypuff
11-12-2006, 11:58 PM
It is now possible to run windows on the newer apple models but i dont know how well it performs, but if your into computers and are looking for good compatability your better off with a windows machine imo.

Hackmo