Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  3
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: induction hob

  1. #1
    Biatch Moderator berley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    55
    Posts
    8,228
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    3617
    Rep Power
    75

    induction hob

    I'm moving house shortly and putting in a different kitchen, I want an induction hob and thought it was just a case of once its fitted you plug in and away you go - apparantly not D'oh!

    Last year when I done my present kitchen I bought all my intergrated appliaces from here, so plan to use them again.
    Hidden Content

    I note that they do have 1 induction hob which is 13 amp and would do what I wanted, but once I clicked onto it and watched the video it says you can only run 1 of the cooking rings at full power at a time, and if you tried doing the same with another it would auto reduce the heat, so that no good to me.

    Onto 32 amp hobs, what sort of wiring do you need for them ? would it need a dedicated circuit ? and would a 32 amp allow you to have more than 1 cooking ring on at full power at a time ?

    My oven will be electric as well, I bought this one last time and that just plugged into a normal socket, so I'd be buying the same one, so once I choose a hob can I still just plug oven into normal socket ?
    Hidden Content
    gяσωιηg σℓ∂ ιѕ мαη∂αтσяу; gяσωιηg υρ ιѕ σρтισηαℓ.
    If you would like to help with the running costs of the site click below

    Hidden Content
    Honesty is better than sugar coated bullsh!t

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter wullboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North of the m6
    Posts
    1,780
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    426
    Rep Power
    26
    The 32 amp induction should run at full power so long as you have it in installed into your 40 amp cooker outlet, [ this is design for cookers only, and is a circuit on its own.... or should be ?? ] and the plug & play oven would be in a different ring [ the same one as your kettle, microwave, etc.etc. ]
    .................................................. .................................................. .
    LIFE`S A BITCH .......... THEN YOU DIE !!

    NEVER TAKE LIFE SERIOUSLY.... NOBODY GETS OUT ALIVE ANYWAY Hidden Content


    Hidden Content



    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  3. Thanks berley thanked for this post
    Likes notanotherone liked this post
  4. #3
    Biatch Moderator berley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    55
    Posts
    8,228
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    3617
    Rep Power
    75
    Don't know from memory whats in the house, but I think there's a white box that you could wire into the back of with a red light on it ? It might also have either 1 or 2 sockets on the unit ?
    gяσωιηg σℓ∂ ιѕ мαη∂αтσяу; gяσωιηg υρ ιѕ σρтισηαℓ.
    If you would like to help with the running costs of the site click below

    Hidden Content
    Honesty is better than sugar coated bullsh!t

  5. #4
    Retired Grumpy Grandad notanotherone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    not far from you
    Posts
    6,798
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    7192
    Rep Power
    61
    my one has a 40 amp fuse box and connected to the mains box i can have them all running at full power
    wii #5344 2071 8397 4304
    Hidden Content
    Trust me the devil allways wins ,no matter how hard we resist

  6. Thanks berley thanked for this post
  7. #5
    DarkHours Moderator dx100-uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hiding....
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,413
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    0
    Rep Power
    21
    Hidden Content Originally Posted by berley Hidden Content
    Don't know from memory whats in the house, but I think there's a white box that you could wire into the back of with a red light on it ? It might also have either 1 or 2 sockets on the unit ?
    yep that's it
    hard wire into that.

    dx

  8. Thanks berley thanked for this post
  9. #6
    Big Bad Boss Gazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Marsss
    Posts
    3,490
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    2102
    Rep Power
    10
    You will need a 6mm T&E from the consumer unit to a 45amp double pole switch and then from the switch to the HOB and this will need to be done by someone that is a qualified electrician.

    Have a look in the kitchen and see if there is a switch like this in there or a outlet like this.

    God help the new neighbours Hidden Content
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails controlswitch.gif   cover.gif  
    Hidden Content
    Viewing Pay TV without a valid subscription is illegal!
    All the files available on this forum are kept for experimental and educational purpose only!

    Hidden Content

  10. Thanks berley thanked for this post
  11. #7
    Respected alanjg007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,311
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    402
    Rep Power
    65
    Hidden Content Originally Posted by Gazer Hidden Content
    You will need a 6mm T&E from the consumer unit to a 45amp double pole switch and then from the switch to the HOB and this will need to be done by someone that is a qualified electrician.

    Have a look in the kitchen and see if there is a switch like this in there or a outlet like this.

    God help the new neighbours Hidden Content

    so gazer...when you coming up then?
    "Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." -- H.L. Mencken

    "The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog" - Carl Jung

    Nexus 7 wifi 32gb 1st Gen XenonHD-4.4.2 Build 1
    HTC one x cm-11-20140205-NIGHTLY-endeavoru

  12. Likes notanotherone liked this post
  13. #8
    Biatch Moderator berley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    55
    Posts
    8,228
    Post Thanks
    Chats
    3617
    Rep Power
    75
    That's a good idea, I can get all my sparky work done for free Hidden Content
    gяσωιηg σℓ∂ ιѕ мαη∂αтσяу; gяσωιηg υρ ιѕ σρтισηαℓ.
    If you would like to help with the running costs of the site click below

    Hidden Content
    Honesty is better than sugar coated bullsh!t

  14. Thanks Gazer thanked for this post
    Likes notanotherone liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Anti-induction plug adapters
    By Jod in forum Freeview / Top up tv
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 12:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •